English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Loyola announces winners of 12th annual Loyola Literacy Leadership Awards

Loyola University Maryland

March 15, 2019


Loyola University Maryland’s School of Education announced this year’s winners of the Literacy Leader Award and Educator of the Year Award.

The Literacy Leader Award recognizes graduates of Loyola’s literacy master’s program specializing in either reading or literacy who promote literacy, demonstrate innovation in practices, exhibit principal leadership within the school or community, and model lifelong learning as a member of the professional literacy community.

Hannah MacDonald, M.Ed, nominated by the literacy program co-directors, is one of Loyola’s 2019 Literacy Leaders. She graduated from Loyola with a bachelor’s in elementary education and master’s in the reading specialist program. MacDonald has taught classes in both the Reading Specialist and Master of Art in Teaching graduation programs, and is passionate about mentoring and connecting with students.

Monica Sample, principal of Overlea High School, was also named a 2019 Literacy Leader. She is passionate about education and uses literacy to connect with both teachers and students. By identifying the strengths of her faculty to help lead initiatives within the school, Sample established a leadership team, which provides the opportunity for teachers to present and learn from one another. Sample is also the administrator in the Loyola/Overlea PDS partnership, where she helped Overlea win a grant from the Learning Forward Foundation for Equity in Student Learning.