English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

32 Students Selected for Prestigious I-Fund Program

Independent College Fund of Maryland

June 27, 2018


On June 21, 2018, the Independent College Fund of Maryland (I-Fund) celebrated thirty-two students chosen by the 2018 National Security Scholars Program (NSSP) to be 2018 NSSP Scholars. Each NSSP Scholar received a $5,500 scholarship to attend an I-Fund member college or university, a Top Secret/Security Compartmented Information (TS/SCI) clearance, and paid summer internships at the National Security Agency (NSA) or one of nine corporate NSSP Partners: Booz Allen Hamilton, Fuse Engineering, Geon Technologies, Leidos, Lockheed Martin, ManTech, Northrup Grumman, Raytheon, and Tech USA Government Solutions.

The celebratory banquet, sponsored by I-Fund Corporate Partner Booz Allen Hamilton, was attended by representatives from nine Corporate Partners, the NSA, the I-Fund, and NSSP Scholars.

Booz Allen Hamilton Executive Vice President, James Allen, was the keynote speaker at the event. Allen is the Client Service Officer for the Cyber Account, which supports the National Security Agency; Cyber Command; and Air Force, Army, Navy and Marine Corps Cyber elements. Allen has more than 36 years of experience leading or supporting cyber and intelligence missions in the U.S. and abroad including working as the Deputy Director for Analysis and Production at NSA and serving in the United States Navy. Elliot Hirshman, President of Stevenson University, also provided remarks during the ceremony and introduced the NSSP Scholars. Now entering its 21st year, the NSSP has awarded $3.4 million in scholarships to more than 300 students attending I-Fund member colleges or universities. Through the NSSP, the I-Fund serves the critical and increasing need for qualified, security-cleared agents to support the intelligence and defense industry in Maryland and the nation.

The NSSP is one of several scholarship programs supported by the I-Fund. The mission of the I-Fund is to provide college access, choice, and opportunities by raising funds—principally from businesses and foundations—to provide scholarships and grants to students attending I-Fund member institutions. The Maryland Independent College and University Association (MICUA) serves as the Resident Agent of the I-Fund and manages the administrative, fiscal, technical, and programmatic operations of the Foundation. &nsbp;


I-Fund members: Capitol Technology University, Goucher College, Hood College, Johns Hopkins University, Loyola University Maryland, McDaniel College, Mount St. Mary’s University, Notre Dame of Maryland University, St. John’s College, Stevenson University, Washington Adventist University, and Washington College.

The Maryland Independent College and University Association (MICUA), which manages the I-Fund, is a member-driven organization devoted to serving the interests of independent higher education and supporting the work of campus leaders throughout the State. Established in 1971, the Association provides services to meet the needs of independent higher education and fosters cooperative efforts among its member institutions and all segments of higher education. As the voice of independent higher education in Maryland, MICUA seeks to inform the broader public about its member institutions and the vital importance of independent colleges and universities to the future of our State and nation.