English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish

Six MICUA Alumni Named Teachers of the Year

Summer 2015

Each year, Baltimore City and Maryland’s 23 counties honor the best public school teachers in their districts with the coveted title: Teacher of the Year. Six MICUA-trained teachers earned this year’s awards, a testament to the quality of education at a Maryland independent institution. Winners include students and alumni from Hood College, Johns Hopkins University, McDaniel College, and Notre Dame of Maryland University.

  • Cheryl Carmean: North Caroline High School—Caroline County
    (Johns Hopkins University)

  • Rachel McCusker: Piney Ridge Elementary School—Carroll County
    (McDaniel College)

  • Jacob Bauer Zebley: Elkton Middle School—Cecil County
    (McDaniel College)

  • Amanda Portner: Thurmont Middle School—Frederick County  
    (Hood College)

  • Laura Potter: C. Milton Wright High School—Harford County
    (Notre Dame of Maryland University)

  • Stephanie Geddie: Laura Woods Elementary School—Howard County
    (Johns Hopkins University)